- Licenses & ID
- Vehicle Registration
- Titles & Bill of Sale
- Tests & Manuals
- Reports & Records
- Tickets & Violations
- Commercial Drivers
- Insurance Center
- Vehicle Services
- Traffic & Safety Laws
- Site Tools
Your source for North Carolina driver's license information
Notice: Driver license changes and applications must be processed at an official DMV location or website. This website provides links to official DMV services which may be free of charge as well as third-party application assistance services and products that charge a fee. Application assistance value added services are designed to better prepare you and help save you time for many DMV-related services. They provide personalized information, customer support, additional vehicle related products and where possible, document preparation. The information on this site is not guaranteed to be correct, complete or up-to-date.
North Carolina Commercial Drivers License
Are you looking to get a commercial drivers license (CDL) in North Carolina? A CDL can be the beginning of a great career driving trucks, semis, busses and other large commercial vehicles. In North Carolina, getting a commercial drivers license requires tests and documents. To get a CDL, choose one of the options below:
Application assistance services can simplify the process for many DMV related services for a fee, including: renewing your license, applying for a license, registering a vehicle, replacing your license, changing your address and more. In addition to assistance in preparing official forms, the value added services and products you will receive include a comprehensive Easy Guide™ containing information relevant to your service needs; 30 days of both emergency Roadside Assistance and the Repair Assist consultation service from Road America; direct access to DMV Advisors, a state-specific help desk prepared to answer any driver-related questions or concerns you may have. Other benefits include an ongoing monthly newsletter and a quarterly magazine covering important updates that affect drivers, important safety tips, trends, legislative updates and ways to save money on vehicle-related services.
2: By mail
Some drivers prefer to handle the renewal process by mail, rather than taking advantage of assistance services, visiting the DMV in person, or via available online services. Service by mail is available with limitations. Read below for additional details or visit your local DMV.
3: Via a DMV office
If your specific needs require an in-person visit, most, if not all, driver license services can be handled at your local DMV office. Varying DMV offices sometimes supply different types of services so you will need to check before your visit to make sure the DMV closest to you provides the service you require. In addition, you can call to see if your DMV allows you to make a personal appointment.
A commercial drivers license typically applies to those interested in obtaining a truck license, a semi license or a bus license to operate vehichles over certain weights and passenger capacities. You must be at least 18 years old to apply for a new North Carolina commercial driver's license. In addition, you must hold a valid driver's license and have passed a state-approved vision test. When you arrive at the North Carolina motor vehicle office make sure to bring:
- Current North Carolina drivers license
- Proof of Social Security number
- Provide a Medical Examination Certificate, which can be downloaded from http://www.fmcsa.dot.gov/documents/safetyprograms/Medical-Report.pdf. To fill this form out, make sure to bring:
- Social Security number
- Date of Birth
- Driver license number
Depending upon the class (classes A, B, or C) of North Carolina CDL license you are applying for you will need to bring payment for applicable fees for your written and skills test. A list of these fees and requirements necessary to obtain your new North Carolina CDL drivers license can be found in our North Carolina CDL License Easy Guide.
According to the FMCSA there are three CDL Classes:
Class A -- Any combination of vehicles with a GCWR of 26,001 or more pounds provided the GVWR of the vehicle(s) being towed is in excess of 10,000 pounds.
Class B -- Any single vehicle with a GVWR of 26,001 or more pounds, or any such vehicle towing a vehicle not in excess of 10,000 pounds GVWR.
Class C -- Any single vehicle, or combination of vehicles, that does not meet the definition of Class A or Class B, but is either designed to transport 16 or more passengers, including the driver, or is transporting material that has been designated as hazardous under 49 U.S.C. 5103 and is required to be placarded under subpart F of 49 CFR Part 172 or is transporting any quantity of a material listed as a select agent or toxin in 42 CFR Part 73.
You may need to add an endorsement to your new North Carolina CDL drivers license. Endorsements include special classes of CMV's such as:
- H - Vehicles transporting hazardous materials
- N - Tank vehicle
- P - Passenger
- S - School Bus
- T - Double/Triple Trailers
- X - Combination of tank vehicle and hazardous materials endorsements
If you operate a CMV that transports hazardous material you must first submit to a background check and fingerprinting. You could be disqualified from transporting hazardous materials and would not be able to obtain the endorsement necessary to obtain a new North Carolina CDL license if you are found guilty of a serious crime.
All the requirements, along with the forms you will need to acquire your new North Carolina CDL license, can be found right here.
Renew North Carolina CDL Drivers License
Is your CDL license about to expire? Whether you are going to renew your North Carolina CDL license online, by mail or in person, you'll want to make sure you know exactly what to bring with you and what is required.
For a checklist of everything you need to renew your North Carolina CDL license, click here.
In North Carolina, you only have the option of renewing your CDL license in person at your local motor vehicle office and will need to bring the necessary documents to your local office for a North Carolina CDL license renewal. Browse more information on the North Carolina DMV site.
Before you renew your North Carolina CDL license, it will be checked against the National Driver Register and the Commercial Drivers License Information System to make sure you are not disqualified and do not hold a CDL license in more than one jurisdiction.
Replace North Carolina CDL License
Has your CDL driver's license been lost, severely damaged or stolen? You will need to replace your North Carolina CDL license as soon as possible as you are required to have your CDL license with you at all times while operating a CMV.
You can replace your North Carolina CDL license by visiting your local DMV office.
If you are unsure about what you will need to replace your North Carolina commercial drivers license, here's some information on CDLs that will be helpful.
Change of Address on a North Carolina CDL license
If you have moved you are required to change your address on your North Carolina CDL license right away. You will need to visit your local DMV and bring your current CDL license along with proof of residency,
For a detailed list of what you will need to bring to change your address on your North Carolina CDL license, be sure to browse some important information here.
North Carolina CDL License Name Change
If you are recently married, divorced or have changed your legal name for any reason, you will need to update your CDL license to reflect that change.
You will need to visit your local DMV and bring an official court document reflecting this change along with the required fees for your North Carolina CDL license name change.
Find out exactly what you need to change your name on your North Carolina CDL license before visiting your local DMV office. Here's how.
New Federal Requirements
Beginning January 30, 2012 and no later than January 2014, the federal government has stipulated that all commercial vehicle drivers must self-certify their vehicle type.
The categories are as follows:
- Non-Excepted Interstate (If this is the option you choose you will need to submit to the Department of Public Safety a federal medical certificate).
- Excepted Interstate
- Non-Excepted Intrastate
- Excepted Intrastate
Find your local motor vehicle office here.
- Download comprehensive checklists, tips and resources to guide you with DMV related services.
- Find the State of North Carolina DMV location closest to you, or for free forms visit the official government website.
- Additional Resources
Did You Know?
Get your questions
answered at DMV Advisors